humility

i’ve been thinking about humility a lot lately.  i’ve started listening to the village church’s podcast at work (it makes the time go faster, with the added benefit of being way better for my soul) and i think matt chandler referenced isaiah 64:6 in 4 of his first 5 sermons on luke. 

“all our righteous acts are like filthy rags.”

filthy rags.  or as my friend tori put it, moldy spaghetti – something that you throw out as soon as you come across it.  it’s so easy for me to view my sin as filthy rags, but isaiah says my righteous acts are just as dirty.  everything good i do – my trip to new york, my trip to india, spending a sunday afternoon building a fence for a guy with one leg, encouraging my friends, being faithful to commitments, all of those things i check off under the “good Christian girl” column – everything is worthless in the throne room of God.

what does that do?  first, it beats me down.  i am great at religion; i struggle with relationship.  i’m good at checklists and keeping score.  all my accomplishments, all the good things my pride says are my own, all of these are nothing.  worthless.  used kleenexes full of germs and snot that i, for some reason, believe have a place in His presence.  when i truly begin to understand that all this gets me nowhere, i have no choice but to fall on my face and pray for the grace that God promises is sufficient. 

second, it frees me.  when my lists and tasks and rules are yanked out from under me, i am free to find my feet on the solid rock of Christ.  when my hands stop trying to dig myself out of the mire, i am free to let Him take them.  when i am weary from trying to achieve, i am free to run wild within the fences of His love.  and when work and effort fail, i am free to chase after the Lord with reckless abandon, the way a child chases fireflies.

“come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”

when i finally realize that all i have is not enough, His yoke is easy and His burden is light, for He is gentle and humble in heart.  praise the Lord that He is all that i am not.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. mmmm…

    amen.

    Reply
  2. thanks for this post rachey. on the other hand though, the exciting thing is that those acts can be used as worship to glorify God. so amen to that too!!

    Reply
  3. Dad

     /  April 29, 2008

    Wow! You are a great and deep thinker. Not to mention an incredible writer.

    Amen and amen!!

    Reply
  4. 3wksconjalapenos

     /  June 1, 2008

    ok so this post was like a month ago… but I just now found it. wow and wow. makes me wonder, though… do I even have any snotty kleenexes that aren’t worth anything? or have I been wasting my time and bringing less than nothing to the table? it sure is a good thing that Christ is sufficient!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

