forgiveness

if someone hurts you, and you don’t think they know they have, should you tell them?  or should you just forgive them and move on?  is the answer different if the person is a fellow believer?  Jesus says to forgive as i have been forgiven.  all of my sin, even the sin i am unconscious of, has been forgiven by the blood of Christ, which makes me think i should remain quiet.

but what if the action that hurt me seems indicative of a deeper issue?  am i not instructed to correct in love?  what if i am not certain whether my motivation is the edification of another believer or the assuaging of my own hurt feelings?  should i speak if i am not certain of my motive?  but if i do not speak, and someone else is hurt by the same person doing the same thing, am i not partially responsible?

is this even a complicated issue, or am i just thinking too hard?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I think it does depend on the person (believer or not), situation, and actions. It’s hard to know how to respond. I say this because I am in the middle of it right now. So, if you are asking this because you also are in this situation, I will be praying for wisdom and peace to fill your heart. And if you think about it, please pray likewise for me. I’m glad you posted this. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

