time to change…

Having just finished reading the transcript of Barack Obama’s victory speech, there is one thought circling my mind: I hope he means it.

“But I will always be honest with you about the challenges we face. I will listen to you, especially when we disagree. And, above all, I will ask you to join in the work of remaking this nation, the only way it’s been done in America for 221 years — block by block, brick by brick, calloused hand by calloused hand.”

“And to those Americans whose support I have yet to earn, I may not have won your vote tonight, but I hear your voices. I need your help. And I will be your president, too.”

I hope he means it.

One part that really stuck out to me:

“This victory alone is not the change we seek. It is only the chance for us to make that change. And that cannot happen if we go back to the way things were.

It can’t happen without you, without a new spirit of service, a new spirit of sacrifice.

So let us summon a new spirit of patriotism, of responsibility, where each of us resolves to pitch in and work harder and look after not only ourselves but each other.”

I hope people will stay engaged.  I hope they will continue to be a part of the process and not just sit back and say, “Well, I got you into office, now what are you going to do for me?”  Most of all, I hope Christians will stay engaged.

I have a number of friends who talk about hating America, and more specifically the American culture of materialism and individualism.  But if we hate American culture, are we not then hating the people who make up that culture, the people we are called to love?  If we truly believe that God is sovereign, over everything from the grass of the field to presidential elections, do we not believe that He has put us here, in this time and this place for a reason?

Esther 4:14
“For if you keep silent at this time, relief and deliverance will rise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?”

I agree that our allegiance is to a king and a kingdom, not to an earthly nation or political party, but at the same time, we cannot neglect the place that we are.  A major criticism I have heard of Christianity, “Evangelical Christianity” specifically, is that we are too concerned with the after life; that we only care about heaven and hell and ignore the present world and the needs of the people in it.  I am not suggesting we swing too far the other direction and only meet physical needs, never speaking the truth of the Gospel.  What I am saying is that we should be investing in our communities, we should care what’s going on in our city, state, and country.

Jeremiah 29:4-7
“Thus says the LORD of hosts, the God of Israel, to all the exiles whom I have sent into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: Build houses and live in them; plant gardens and eat their produce. Take wives and have sons and daughters; take wives for your sons, and give your daughters in marriage, that they may bear sons and daughters; multiply there, and do not decrease. But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare.”

Let us pray for our neighborhoods.  Let us pray for our cities.  Let us pray for our new president, that the change he brings, whether good or bad, is a change that will glorify the name of the Lord and bring the people of the United States to repentance. 

My personal prayer is that God will be glorified, whether through revival or destruction.  In either case, and in every case in between, God remains our sovereign King, our Lord of lords, our Prince of Peace, our loving Father, and the Savior of our souls.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Archives

