goodbye 2008, hello 2009

This is a random thing I used to do on livejournal that I thought I would revisit. 

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
graduated college, went on an overseas mission trip, was a bridesmaid (twice), went to Boston

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions and will you make more for next year?
I don’t think I even made any…I tend to find them futile

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
nope…maybe next year  :) 

4. Did anyone close to you die?
my Bubbe

5. What countries did you visit?
India, Nepal

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
a deeper knowledge of and affection for the Lord

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
September 26 – my sister’s wedding

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
graduating, getting accepted to teach for america

9. What was your biggest failure?
maintaining relationships during student teaching

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
nothing serious…found out I’m borderline iron-deficient, but that’s it

11. What was the best thing you bought?
all the stuff I got in Nepal and lots and lots of books

12. Where did most of your money go?
the gas station, barnes & noble, target, and itunes

13. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
going to new york city (twice), going to India & Nepal, and lots of other things

14. What song will always remind you of 2008?
“catchy melody”  :)

15. What do you wish you’d done more of?
reading, writing, thinking, talking 

16. What do you wish you’d done less of?
worrying, spending money on stupid things, complaining

17. Did you fall in love in 2008?
only with Nepali children :)

18. What was your favorite TV program?
lost, heroes, the office

19. What was the best book you read?
oh goodness, I can’t even remember everything I read this year…

20. What was your greatest musical discovery?
copeland, the decemberists, iron & wine (i know, i’m late), marketa irglova and glen hansard, andy davis

21. What did you want and get?
a fantastic apartment and a great roommate; to get accepted to TFA

22. What did you want and not get?
the love of my life

23. What was your favorite film of this year?
the dark knight

24. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 22, but I can’t for the life of me remember what I did.

25. What kept you sane?
the Lord, the communion group, my friends, my family

26. What political issue stirred you the most?
the election

27. Who did you miss?
the people we met in India and Nepal, my Denton friends whenever I was out of town

28. Who was the best new person you met?
I don’t think there was really a best new person…I like all the new people I met

29. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008:
-the only fear that has a place in the kingdom of heaven is fear of the Lord; fear of man is just a waste of time and energy

So now that you’ve wasted a bunch of time reading that, what did you learn in 2008?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Mom

     /  January 1, 2009

    What about House? Now that you have your dad and I hooked on that, I can’t believe you didn’t mention that tv show!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

