long lunch

It’s a very good thing I get a lot of time for lunch.

I’m exhausted today.  I didn’t leave work in Flower Mound last night until 8:40, so I didn’t get home until after 9.  I went to bed around 10, but couldn’t fall asleep and 5:30 came way too early.

I hate how being tired affects me as a teacher.  Generally, I’m pretty patient with the kids.  I don’t mind a lot of noise or silly questions, but when I’m tired I get annoyed.  I’m especially not looking forward to my 8th grade class, because I know they’re going to give me all kinds of trouble.

In a dream world, they would all come in to class, sit down at their tables, open their books, and get to work on the editorial I assigned (and explained at length) yesterday.  In actuality, it will probably go something like this:

-Students enter room chaotically
-Students wander around the tables, talking to each other
-10 minutes into class, half of them have their books and a piece of paper (but may or may not be working), the other half are either ignoring me or complaining
-halfway through class, at least 5 students have still not started working
-10 minutes to the end of class, I announce that they have 10 minutes left to turn in their paper – general cacophony ensues: “This is due today!?”  “I only have one sentence written!”  “Why do we have to write?  This isn’t English!” etc., etc., etc.

Normally, this would not be that big of a deal.  Their level of effort will reflect in their grades, so I don’t mind the attitudes.  Today though, it would be nice to not have to fight the battle.

P.S. – New book review to your left :)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Archives

