TGIF

Yesterday was a good day.  (Most of) my kids did their work, tutoring was easy (best. part time job. ever.  those kids are so sweet), and it was pay day!!!  I got the biggest paycheck of my life, and it was only for 5.5 days of work.  This part of the “real” world I am perfectly alright with  :)

After work, I went to Olive Garden with some friends to celebrate our friend Sara’s 21st birthday.  My dinner was delicious and I get to eat it again for lunch today and afterwards Jacqui came over and we did laundry and made brownies and watched House (she had never seen it…she loves it).  She was really tired, so she ended up just crashing on the couch and I’m taking her home on my way to work.

I’ve been noticing this past week how important balance really is.  I discovered that I am like a cell phone battery.  When the battery gets low, you have to put the phone on the charger, but if you leave the phone on the charger all the time, the battery starts to run down quicker.  When I’ve been around a lot of people, or even just a few people for a lot of time, I need alone time.  But if I spend most of my time alone (emotionally speaking, of course; I’m surrounded by students all day long), I feel more and more drained as the days go on.  The past week or so I’ve felt awful – tired, stuck in my own head, worried about stupid things – but after having some fun and being around friends last night, I feel much better.

This weekend is the women’s retreat at Grace (and Denton Bible, but I’m not going to that one).  I’m looking forward to it, but I wish it was on a different weekend.  I love my mom and I enjoy being around her friends, but it’s not quite the same as being around my friends  :)

p.s. – it’s still dark out, but there’s a bird singing.  Whenever that happens, I want to put on a coat, find a foggy field, and look for Mr. Darcy.  Hopefully someone gets what I’m talking about…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. hey,
    I really enjoyed reading your post today. I was struck by your comments about balance. I fall easily on one side or the other (too much alone time, or, too much social time…if that’s possible, haha). I’ve been thinking a lot about how my time is not my own, and that my priorities might need shifting. And I totally love the closing comment. Cue the amazing music…ah, Elizabeth is a lucky one. Keep on keepin’ on, friend! :-)

    Reply
  2. Dad

     /  February 27, 2009

    After hanging around with you all these years how could I NOT get what you’re talking about. Someday your Mr. Darcy will come!

    Reply
  3. Molly

     /  March 6, 2009

    hi. so i´m not gonna lie, this is the first time i have actually read your blog, and im so glad i did! i totally agree with the balance thing…it´s kindof my goal for while im in chile. and there are some lovely feilds here in chile that look very reminiscent of said imaginary feild and there is always a lovely lavender haze floating around in the morning, especially in the mountains. it´s almost better that a feild in england, especially if a chilean mr. darcy were to emerge…
    ps. i love your dad and his comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Archives

