Epic Fail?

Today is my last day at Crownover.  Even with all the drama of the past week or so (in case you didn’t know, I’ve become a recent subject of gossip in the 8th grade), I’ve really enjoyed my time there.  I’ve learned a lot – mainly how much I still have left to learn.  I am by no means good at this yet, which is somewhat of an unfamiliar place.

I’m realizing just how easy my life has been.  I look back, and honestly cannot think of a time when I faced a challenge and had to put in a lot of effort and persevere to overcome obstacles and succeed.  Anything that I’ve really wanted in my life has been, at worst, mildly inconvenient.  How am I supposed to teach my kids how to do something that I’ve never been required to do?  How do I convince them of the power of hard work and perseverence when I’ve been able to coast for most of my life?

This realization also begs the question, just how lazy am I?  What things could I have accomplished if I had been willing to work harder?  What things did I give up on to early, or never even start in the first place?

I think I have a fear of failure.  If I want to succeed in Teach for America, or in education in general, I’m really going to have to get over that.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  April 17, 2009

    Sweetie – don’t confuse an incredible intellect with laziness!

    Yes, you had it pretty easy in school and perhaps you could have been that rocket scientist had you the drive to pursue that, BUT you are not lazy.

    You’ve had a job since before you could drive and have a great work ethic. You even slid into a ditch trying to get to work on a day when pretty much everyone else stayed home! You always give 100% on the job. How many conversations have we had about how you sought extra work to stay busy at your campus job? Others would just go real slow to make the work fit the time. But YOU went beyond what was asked. That’s how you are!

    It’s normal to fear failure – we all do. It’s what you do with that fear that separates the successful from the true failures. You are a passionate, caring person who always seeks to follow the path God has for her. Keep that and there is no reason to fear!

    You are going to be one of the great ones! You may skin your knees a few times along the way, but you won’t be daunted in following that path. I know it! Remember Queen and Liberty? Not only did you ride again, you jumped! That’s grit and determination – qualities you have in spades.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

