summer!

I <3 days off!

Yesterday I had a bunch of errands to run, but they went pretty quickly and my last stop was picking up transcripts at UNT.  Conveniently (or because I planned it that way), Darcy was playing at an event on campus.  Also conveniently (and not planned), I ran into Jacqui, Megan Noe, and Helen while I was on campus.  The weather was so gorgeous (although it was almost too hot) and I loved getting to just sit outside under the trees and talk leisurely with friends.  It was so much like old times.

I did have to leave the show early to go to work at Huntington, but that’s ok because it’s a fun job for the most part.  The kids I was working with last night are really cool and I’m really proud of the one I tutored from 6:30-8:30.  He’s gotten it in his head that he’s just not good at reading, but he actually did really well on his homework and did better than a lot of the kids I’ve been working with on the writing section that he did.  Plus, he’ll actually talk to me now…it only took 2 1/2 months!  :)

Today I have a breakfast date at Cups & Crepes (one of the Denton places I will miss the most) and then a half-day sub job at Guyer.  Then I need to go to the grocery store to buy food because I’m making dinner for the guys tonight (my great-aunt’s stuffed chicken breast…sooooo good).

Up to this point, this is probably the most worthless post ever, so I will leave you with some words from Isaiah.

p.s. – I posted some new books, so check those out if you care.

Isaiah 61

 1 The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me,
   because the LORD has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
   he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
   and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
2to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor,
   and the day of vengeance of our God;
   to comfort all who mourn;
3to grant to those who mourn in Zion—
   to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
   the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;
that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
   the planting of the LORD, that he may be glorified.
4They shall build up the ancient ruins;
   they shall raise up the former devastations;
they shall repair the ruined cities,
   the devastations of many generations.

 5Strangers shall stand and tend your flocks;
   foreigners shall be your plowmen and vinedressers;
6but you shall be called the priests of the LORD;
   they shall speak of you as the ministers of our God;
you shall eat the wealth of the nations,
   and in their glory you shall boast.
7Instead of your shame there shall be a double portion;
   instead of dishonor they shall rejoice in their lot;
therefore in their land they shall possess a double portion;
   they shall have everlasting joy.

 8For I the LORD love justice;
   I hate robbery and wrong;
I will faithfully give them their recompense,
   and I will make an everlasting covenant with them.
9Their offspring shall be known among the nations,
   and their descendants in the midst of the peoples;
all who see them shall acknowledge them,
   that they are an offspring the LORD has blessed.

10I will greatly rejoice in the LORD;
   my soul shall exult in my God,
for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation;
   he has covered me with the robe of righteousness,
as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress,
   and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.
11For as the earth brings forth its sprouts,
   and as a garden causes what is sown in it to sprout up,
so the Lord GOD will cause righteousness and praise
   to sprout up before all the nations.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

