life in the city of the blues

Well, after a day full of plane delays, changing gates, and child vomit, I arrived safely in Memphis on Tuesday.  That night was a welcome dinner and then we spent all day Wednesday in sessions learning more about Teach for America and the core values and a bunch of other stuff, then went to the Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Motel in the evening.  Today we went to Memphis City Schools to fill out all our new hire paperwork and get that turned in.  We don’t have internet in our rooms, so this is the first chance I’ve had to actually get online and check email and facebook and update about what’s been going on.

So far it hasn’t been incredibly and overwhelmingly exciting, but it’s been good.  I’ve met a ton of people and so far everyone seems to get along really well.  My only concern right now is that it’s proving kind of difficult to find a roommate and a place to live.  Most people either already have a place, are living by themselves, or are waiting until we get back from institute, which really isn’t an option for me.  I’m going to look at a couple places this afternoon, so hopefully something will work out.

The great thing is that I’ve already been able to go deeper than small talk with a couple of girls.  A discussion about people who marry young and being attracted to older men with a girl from Long Island led to an explanation of my faith and then to the story of how my dad converted from Judaism to Christianity.  Another (very late night) discussion with a girl who grew up in Memphis and attends an African Methodist Episcopal church wandered through topics such as Christian rap music, abstinence/celibacy, condemnation/tolerance, and somehow ended up with me sharing my journey from depression to joy and how the Lord has brought me here to this place.

A huge answer to prayer is that I have found myself grounded in my identity in Christ (a rare thing for me) and therefore able to be myself in the face of new circumstances and new personalities, rather than stuck trying to be someone I think others will like.  Praise the Lord for that!  Please continue to pray for the roommate/place to live situation when you think of it.

I’ll try to update from Atlanta, but no guarantees on how much time I’ll have.  Keep checking back though…you never know when something new will pop up  :)

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. yay!

    Reply
  2. Molly

     /  June 5, 2009

    child vomit. ew.

    love you.

    Reply
  3. Dad

     /  June 5, 2009

    We are so incredibly proud of you!

    Reply
  4. eliseannpetrosky

     /  June 8, 2009

    GIRLLL. I am so happy for you!!! YOU can do it! Identity in Christ! Peace of Christ! oh yeah! oh yeah! adventures!! woo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

