Truth

It is amazing how good it is to hear things you know to be true spoken by someone else.

“But thanks be to God, that you who were once slaves of sin have become obedient from the heart to the standard of teaching to which you were committed, and, having been set free from sin, have become slaves of righteousness.”
-Romans 6:17-18

I was blessed with the opportunity to join in with a group of Indianapolis corps members for a small church meeting this morning, and it was wonderful.  In light of the 4th of July, my friend Matt led a devotion on freedom, specifically freedom from sin.  He basically just laid out the gospel, starting with why we were created and what it was like for Adam and Eve before the fall, and then talking about sin entering the world and how it caused not only physical death but spiritual death as well.  We looked at Romans 5, and talked about how sin and death spread to everyone.  That led us to John 8:32-34: we are slaves of sin and only the truth will set us free.  And what is truth (or rather, Truth)?  Jesus himself.

We read through Isaiah 53 to remind ourselves of the cost of our freedom.  The cost of our freedom from sin is so much greater than the cost of freedom from Britain or tyranny or fascism or capitalism or communism or any other earthly trouble and Jesus Christ paid it for us.  That is beautiful and that is Truth.

These are all things I know and believe, things I try to remind myself of on a daily (hourly, secondly) basis, but it was such a joy to hear them from someone else’s lips.  It was delightful to be reminded that I am not alone in this, I am not Elijah alone in a cave with God.  There is not only a remnant of seven thousand, but a universal church body of seven thousand seven thousands.

In addition to being an encouragement, this morning was also a challenge.  Indianapolis had a group meeting together because Matt stepped up and started it, and not everyone who comes is even a believer.  Why doesn’t Memphis have a group?  Why have I not stepped up?  I want to seriously pray about getting a women’s bible study together for the corps once we’re settled in Memphis.  Hold me accountable to this – pray with me, ask me if I’ve been praying, ask me what steps I’ve taken to plan it, etc.

I do not believe for a moment that the only reason God brought me to Teach for America is for the sake of my students.  Yes, they are high on my list of priorities, but He has also seen fit to place me in a group of 50 people that is unlike any group I have ever been a part of before.

“And who knows whether you have not come to [Memphis] for such a time as this?”  -Esther 4:14

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  July 5, 2009

    We are constantly in awe of your spiritual depth and desire to serve our Lord fully! You made your Mom cry when we read this! (That as a good thing!)

    We love you! Keep up the good work and we’ll see you in just six days. WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

