oy vey

It’s been a stressful couple of days.  Yesterday I found out that I’m not teaching 9th grade English, but 10th grade.  This is proving a little more stressful than I originally anticipated.

I loved my 9th grade English class.  My teacher was awesome and I loved most of the books we read, so I was pretty excited to be teaching it.  I’d read a lot of the short stories i the textbook and was feeling relatively confident in my ability to teach the class.

Not so much 10th grade.  I had a horrible teacher and the books I actually read, I didn’t particularly enjoy.  I haven’t heard of most of the authors in the 10th grade book, much less read the stories and I have no idea what I’m going to use for our novel toward the end of the year.

So now in addition to the hours I spent tonight going through the new standards and putting the ones that are different into my long term plan, I now have to start over on my first unit assessment, possibly overhaul my first unit plan, familiarize myself with a new textbook, read Julius Caesar before the 3rd unit (which should be about the 10th week of school), finish creating my investment plan, design my management plan, set up my classroom, write lesson plans for the first 2 weeks of school, and sit through a week of professional development starting on Monday.  It’s just a little bit overwhelming.

In addition to all this, there have been some logistics issues with Teach for America and MCS that have been frustrating.  Communication, people…it’s not that hard!  I guess I better get used to it – I won’t be escaping bureaucracy anytime soon.

On the bright side, my new living room furniture is being delivered on Saturday and my MacBook should come sometime in the middle of next week.  So excited!!!  Plus, very soon I’ll have my very own students, which will definitely help me remember why the heck I’m doing all of this.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  July 29, 2009

    Adapt, adjust, overcome!

    If anyone can handle this, it’s you! Being out of your comfort zone, have insurmountable tasks ahead of you, and wondering how you’ll get through it all is a wonderful place to be – a place where the only solution is to rely on God! Together, you and He can manage it all and do it really well. He and I both have faith in you!!

    Love ya,

    Dad
    xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

