Bouquets of freshly sharpened pencils…

It seems like a good time to post a list of good things that have been going on.  Just so cyberspace doesn’t think Memphis is horrible and terrible and full of nightmares all the time.  :)

1. In contrast to my last post, the past 2 nights have been dream free!  I gave prayer a shot again (seemed the most beneficial/productive/likely to work thing I could do with my last waking moments), so thanks to Melissa and parents.

2. We started Unit 2 yesterday and even though it’s only been two days, it’s already going better than Unit 1.  I feel much better about my unit plan, my lesson plans are much stronger, and I’m working on being EXTREMELY clear about my expectations.  The down sides of this:

  • increased time planning = decreased time grading
  • I am so tired of saying “Can anyone raise your hand and tell me…”  If I say it, they raise hands.  If I forget even once, utter chaos.

3. Fellowship Memphis is amazing.  Ben Parkinson taught the best sermon on hell I’ve heard on Sunday.  Check it out here.  The teaching is dead on every week, the music is fantastic, we take communion every week (which I love), and it is truly multicultural.  I really just love the way they do things and what they’re all about.

  • Side note: what are your thoughts on joining a church when you have no idea how long you’ll be living somewhere?  Fellowship is big on membership in a local body (and so is the Bible), but I’m wondering if I should wait and see if I’m going to stay in Memphis before I make the commitment.  Is it OK for me to join the church and then leave less than 2 years later?  Any thoughts/opinions are welcome.

4. Jacqui lives here.  Enough said.

5. The weather the past few days has been fantastic.  The sun finally came out, and with it came FALL!  The high yesterday was 78, today was 74.  When I left the house this morning it was 50 degrees!  They tell me this is not normal, but I’ll take it.

6. This one is pretty stupid, but with the cooler weather comes the return of new TV episodes.  House is back, Bones is back, the Office is back.  Also, we are entering the time of year that is most likely to produce good movies.  The big one I’m looking forward to right now: Where the Wild Things Are.  I love that the wild things are actors in suits and not completely CGI.  All of this plus my new Netflix account means (most of) my entertainment needs are covered.  What’s missing, you may ask – live music, specifically of the Darcy/Fitzwilliam variety.  Maybe I’ll go watch the Catchy Melody video again… :)

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Dad

     /  September 30, 2009

    Join the church. Get involved. Don’t worry about the time.

    Glad you’re getting rest and that teaching is getting better. Unit 3 will be better still. YOU CAN DO THIS!!

    Say hi to Jacqui for me.

    Love ya,

    Dad

    Reply
  2. hey…as one who was in the same situation a year ago, I can whole-heartedly say: dive in. It may not be forever, it may be four years, or maybe just one (as it ended up being for me). But in that one year, God did amazing things to knit me into that community, use them to encourage and correct me, and push me to get out of my bubble, serve, be uncomfortable (in a good way), and develop lasting friendships. One might say you could do these things without actually becoming a member, but I think that really does make a difference – it is a commitment. Some commitments are just longer than others.

    Reply
  3. dayne

     /  October 4, 2009

    Rachel – Ditto dad – jump and and wholeheartedly pursue this! Even though you may think your time here is limited, in actuality the Lord has already appointed every day. Whether it’s one or one thousand, go ahead and build relationships. Who knows what the Lord may have! You go!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • September 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

