We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto

I know I’m not in Denton (or Austin) anymore when:

  • I’m the politically correct teacher because I said “person vs. _____” instead of “man vs. _____” when we talked about conflict.  Me, politically correct?
  • not only is it impossible to find a breakfast taco, most people don’t even know what they are. 
  • I never see anyone riding a bike (and if they are it’s not an old street bike) or jogging.
  • I am almost always NOT the largest person in the room (Men’s Fitness ranked Memphis #11 in it’s 2009 Fattest Cities in America).
  • the tortillas are in a back corner of the grocery store instead of next to the bread where they belong.
  • my students think I’m “liberal” because I don’t let them use “gay” as an insult or have religious arguments in class (they were supposed to be taking notes and it was completely off topic…otherwise I totally would have let them).
  • their idea of a fair is 5 days, a few musical artists, and not a fried Oreo or Twinkie in sight.
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. so…quick note: I love that the state fair has come up several times now, mostly in relation to being away from TX. At this time of year, it is one of the clearest pictures of a home that can’t be replaced. Oh, Texas…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

