Help, please!

I need an excuse to buy this coat.  Anybody have any ideas?

1321004401-z
In other news, I never really do things like this, but I liked the questions this week, so I’m participating in my friend Chelsea’s Ten on Tuesdays.  Be sure to check her out at Roots and Rings.
rr10tuesday

1. What are you going to be for Halloween?
Something lame, I’m sure.  Maybe a teacher?

2. Have you ever been on television?
I was interviewed by a local Chicago news station when my family went to the Women’s World Cup in 1999.  My face was painted and I was wearing one of those giant ridiculous red, white, and blue hats.

3. Do you have a toilet paper preference?
Charmin Ultra Strong.  And it must go over, not under.

4. When you’re pregnant, will you find out the sex of the baby? (Or if you’ve already had babies, did you find out the sex?) Why or why not?
Probably.  I think it’s good to plan ahead…there doesn’t really seem to be a point to not finding out.

5. What are three items that every kitchen must have?
I don’t really cook, so a microwave, a toaster oven, and George Foreman grill.

6. Do you enjoy Christmas shopping?
Sort of.  I love the decorations and the Christmas music and the general festive atmosphere, and I love when I have a really good idea for someone’s gift.  However, a lot of the time I’m drawing complete blanks on what to get people, which is not fun.

7. What is your go-to recipe? (The thing you cook more than anything else because it’s easy and mindless.) Please share the recipe.
Honestly?  Buitoni pasta.  Dump it into a pot of boiling water, boil for 8 minutes, then mix with olive oil, garlic salt, oregano, and basil.

A real recipe?  Baked ziti, which is almost as easy.  Cook the ziti, then dump vodka sauce on top of it, smother in mozzarella and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes.  Super easy, super delicious.

8. Do you sleep on your back, belly, or side?
Sprawled out on my stomach.  I absolutely cannot sleep on my back and I can only sleep on my side if I’m on a couch.

9. How do you feel about Tom Cruise?
I think he makes really great movies.  I think that has more to do with the movies he picks rather than his skill as an actor though; a lot of his characters seem very similar.  As a person, he’s rather odd.

10. What books are in your “books to read” stack?
Haha, I don’t know if there’s space for it here.

  • Band of Brothers and D-Day by Stephen Ambrose
  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
  • The Theology of John Calvin by Karl Barth
  • Stealing the General by Russell Bonds
  • Letters and Papers from Prison by Dietrich Bonhoeffer
  • The Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne
  • The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillippa Gregory
  • The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
  • Shadow Divers by Robert Kurson
  • The Source by James Michener
  • Here and Now by Henri Nouwen
  • My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  • Julius Caesar by Shakespeare
  • April 1865 by Jay Winik
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Dad

     /  October 28, 2009

    Don’t buy it!

    Reply
  2. In regards to whether to buy the coat or not…if it looks cute & functions well AND you do not currently own a coat, then…BUY AWAY! :)

    I miss you, and reading your blog/hearing how life is going makes me feel very glad that in Christ our hardships always produce fruit.
    Consider yourself a budding tree whenever the kids start acting up. A budding tree in the middle of winter. It is possible.

    love you!

    Reply
  3. heymissblog

     /  November 1, 2009

    Hey so how’d you find my blog? I’ve read some random posts on yours and I get a weird feeling like I know you or something!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

