What dreams may come…

Last night I dreamt that I had asked a homeless woman to move in with me.  I don’t remember where I met her, but I vividly remember trying to convince her to live with me and let me take care of her.  She agreed to stay for one night.  In that dream-like way things happen, all of a sudden she was living with me full time.

I’m not really sure how the logistics were working, since I was still living in the townhouse with Amy and there’s no way my room fits two people.  Maybe she was sleeping downstairs on the couch, maybe I was, I’m not sure.  Either way, it was clear in the dream that she was staying with me long-term.

It was also clear that this was happening while I was still a first year teacher.  I remember wondering in the dream, “How is Amy going to react to this?  I feel like she won’t like it,” and “How am I going to get all my work done for school and take care of this woman?”  None of this stopped me from having her move in, though.  I was absolutely certain that it was what God wanted me to do.

I woke up feeling…weird.  That peaceful assured feeling was still with me, and yet I had a lot of questions swimming around.  I’m not even really involved with the homeless right now…should I start going to Fellowship’s downtown outpost?  I know they’ve been doing some homeless ministry.  How would the logistics work?  How would Amy react?  How would I get done all the work I need to get done?  In the dream it seemed like everything was magically working itself out…it definitely wouldn’t be like that in real life.

Then, of course, I was left wondering whether or not I was reading way too much into a dream.  I don’t usually have vivid dreams, though (unless they’re about school and all the ways my children could come up with to torture me).  Before the school dreams I hardly ever remembered my dreams at all, so this is pretty out of the ordinary.  I guess I’ll just pray and wait and look for opportunities to live out the Beatitudes.

P.S. – If you would like to have your heart, mind, and life messed with, listen to the series we’re doing on the Sermon on the Mount.  You can find it here.  I warn you, though – don’t listen if you don’t want to be challenged.  (And Dad, the one where he rips into dispensationalism is the Nov. 15th one.)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Amy

     /  January 3, 2010

    Hey, there is now an empty room there…you never know! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • December 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

