How can I do my job if you don’t do yours?

I forgot to update yesterday…oops!

Today I have scheduled the computer lab all day so that my students can finish doing research for the paper we’re working on.  I head down to the computer lab today and it’s locked.  Turns out the woman who is in charge of the lab decided she didn’t need to come to work today.

I finally tracked down an administrator and convinced them to let me use the lab.  I have to send a student to find an assistant principal at the beginning of every class so that they can come unlock the door for us.  That’s time wasted that my kids need.

I am told over and over that I need to be having rigorous instruction, that I need to be using technology, that my students need to be doing independent research.  How am I supposed to be accomplishing all of this when my time is constantly being wasted by things like this?  My seniors sat in the hall for half an hour today waiting to get in the lab.  We will never get those 30 minutes back.  That’s 30 minutes my students now have to spend outside of class, over a 3-day weekend if they’re going to finish getting all the information they need for their essay.  How many of them are actually going to do that?

It’s just so frustrating.  I can’t do my job as well as I need/want to when other people do not do theirs.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

