Am I teaching or learning?

I was talking to my mom on the way home from school today about a particularly frustrating day.  I was telling her that I wish I could get my students to believe me when I tell them that working hard now will pay off later; that I’m not making them work because I hate them, but because it’s good for them.  Many of them will acknowledge that that is true, but very few of them actually act on it.

While I was still saying that, I realized that humans (myself definitely included) are the same way with God.  He tells us over and over that following Him is better for us than anything else.  It is better than wealth, than fame, than power, than comfort, than anything. And we acknowledge this is true.  We say we believe it.  We sing “better is one day in Your courts than thousands elsewhere.”  But how many of us truly live it?

Maybe it’s because I’m reading Irresistible Revolution right now or maybe it’s because my church is going through the Sermon on the Mount, but I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what it looks like to really follow Jesus.  What does it look like to lay down my rights each day out of love for God and people?  For me, right now it looks like laying down my right to be respected and appreciated, and continuing to not only show up at school each day, but also continuing to try and be the best possible teacher I can be for my students.  The hard part for me is making it an act of love and service, not an act of duty – easier said than done.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Wow. I have just started a study on the Sermon on the Mount (does your church have sermons online? I’d love to have some more input into what I’m reading.) What you shared about laying down your right to be respected and appreciated really hit close to home for me. Right now, I am also having to learn what it means to serve out of love, not duty. It is a challenge to always be present here, with my full attention and effort, not simply surviving or constantly looking ahead to what I want next. Thanks for sharing and being transparent. When the days are long, run to the One who can quiet our hearts and take all the frustration that we need to vent. :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

