This is why I teach…

All week I have been telling my students that they have no excuse to not finish their research project.  I wrote my phone number on the board, I gave them my email address, I told them I would pick them up and take them to the library.  A couple of them called me or texted me with questions, but I didn’t think it would go beyond that.

This morning I got a text from one of my students asking if I could still take her to the library and help her.  I told her of course, set up a time, and got her address.  We spent about an hour at the library, working on her project and then looking at books together.  She told me she liked poetry so we went to the poetry section and I told her how she can use anthologies to find out which poets she likes.  I introduced her to Langston Hughes and we talked about how he wrote the way the people around him spoke.  We went to the teen fiction section and I showed her some books I had liked.  We went to the non-fiction section and she showed me some books she had liked.  She said she liked them because they were real and they reminded her of her own life, somewhat.

As I was driving her home, she said, “You know, I hate to say it, but learning was actually fun today.”  She told me that learning would be more fun if all the teachers at Kingsbury were like me.  She is the reason I work hard.  She is the reason I feel guilty when I’m underprepared.  She is the reason I go back to school every morning, even when the day before has been hell.

She is the reason I teach.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. AWESOME!!! Well done Rachel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

