Student of the Week (6)

I tried to post this yesterday, but WordPress kept spazzing.  Sorry for the delay.

This week’s student is Leonardo.  Leonardo is an English language learner who has struggled in my class all year.  Whereas a lot of my other ELLs have worked really hard to keep up and make good grades, he has been content to coast.  Then in the past two weeks he has refused to take notes, refused to do the classwork, and only answered 2 questions on the quiz last week.

He told me that he knows he’s going to fail my class anyway, so he’s given up.  I told him everything I tell my other students – you CAN pass, you just have to put in the work.  He just put his head down and wouldn’t look at or talk to me.  I finally told him to just let me know if he changed his mind.

Please pray that Leonardo would see the value of school and education.  Pray that even if he can’t see the value of learning poetry, he would see the value of working hard and trying even when he doesn’t want to.  Pray that I would have patience with him.  Pray also that his apathy will not spread to other students in the class, because it so very often does.

Love you, thanks!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Laura Pedersen

     /  February 17, 2010

    I want you to know that I really appreciate the opportunity to pray for your students in my Faculty In Touch pray group. We are a group of teachers who pray every Wed. at school for students, teachers, families and each other.

    Reply
  1. SotW Updates « Why I…

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Archives

