A Good Week

Thank you so much for all the prayers – they definitely were a big part of me having a great week this week.

Most of my lessons went smoothly and a couple of key trouble makers were absent, so my evil class got a lot accomplished and I even actually enjoyed being around them.  I just hate that when those two girls are there, they completely hijack the class because they are so disruptive.  A lot of the others are good kids and want to learn, and they’re not able to get as much done because I’m so busy trying to get those girls to be quiet.

I also had a student show up today who has not been to my class in 4 weeks.  He has missed our entire poetry unit – he didn’t believe me until I showed him my attendance sheet.  A few minutes after coming in, he asked me if he could get his make up work.  I told him that he had to come after school.  This is a pretty normal response – I don’t have time to get together four weeks worth of work in the middle of class.  Here’s the rest of the conversation:

J – I can’t come after school.
Ms. A – There’s not a single day you can stay after school?
J – No.
Ms. A – Why not?
J – I have stuff. (translation – I’m in a gang and have gang-related activity to do)
Ms. A – Well, you can either find time to come after school or you can try and get the notes from someone else in class.
J – Can I just do some work without getting the notes?
Ms. A – Well, I can give you the poems, but you won’t be able to do anything with them without the notes.  Plus, the notes are in the poetry handbook, which is supposed to be turned in as part of the unit project.
J – Oh.  I guess I can come after school sometime.
Ms. A – I can stay today and I’m here every Tuesday and Wednesday.

Ah, kids.  Always looking for the easy way out.  :)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
  • Archives

