Things blowing up…fun!

Last semester there were two days when I was kicked out of my classroom so my air conditioning unit could be replaced.  My air conditioning was working pretty well, but most of the units in the building were broken, so they replaced all of them over about two months.  By the time mine was replaced, it was getting cold outside so I just continued to use my unit as storage (it makes a nice, long table) and didn’t really think anything about it.

Throughout the winter, my radiator was actually working, so while my colleagues were freezing, I was pretty comfortable.  I still needed a sweater every once in a while, but for the most part I just didn’t think about the temperature in my room.

Well, apparently the gods of air conditioning have decided that I should suffer the same discomfort as my coworkers.  Once the temperatures started warming up, so did my room.  At first I thought it was because my radiator was still on.  And then they cut the radiators off.  Then I thought it was because the district hadn’t turned the air conditioning on.  And then everyone else’s started blowing cold air, while mine continued to merely blow air noisily at the same temperature.

Knowing that the squeaky wheel gets the grease, I told our building guy that my AC wasn’t working.  And then I told him again.  And again.  And again.  Finally, the AC guys came out yesterday (the first day they had heard anything about it…I love MCS).  They came to my room during my planning period to figure out what was going on.  They discovered that my room was 79 degrees (after I had been the only one it for half an hour – imagine what it’s like with 30 students) and talked about a lot of stuff that I didn’t understand while I graded papers.

And then my air conditioner went BOOM! and a lovely freon smell filled the classroom.  Whatever they were checking had “blown a lug” on the compressor (maybe one of you out there somewhere has some idea what that means – I just know it was loud and smelled really bad).  What I gathered from the AC guys was that my unit will just continue to circulate warm air until they can get a new compressor and install it.

I’m expecting this to happen around the same time we get a working copier – two weeks after never.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  April 14, 2010

    Sadness! :-(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • April 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

