Almost there

Summer is so close I can almost taste it.  This is, of course, not good for my work ethic.  We’re doing a low-key review (which I have yet to create, even though it is almost 8:30 Sunday night) tomorrow/Tuesday and then the big, scary End of Course test that will decide the fate of the world is on Wednesday.  Ok, it won’t really decide the fate of the world, it just seems that way because of all the pressure…pressure on the school, pressure on me, pressure on the kids…I hate standardized testing.

Knowing I am only 17 school days away from the finish line is making it very difficult for me to put a whole lot of effort into planning.  This, of course, makes me feel guilty and like a bad corps member, but I also think it makes me sane.  After the EOCT we’re taking a couple days to watch Dead Poet’s Society and then I don’t really know what to do.  We’ll have about 2 weeks, but we’re all assuming that no one will show up the 24th and 25th (they tacked on 2 extra days because of the snow days earlier in the year).  Attendance has already started dropping pretty drastically, and they haven’t even taken the tests yet.

We will still do something after the test.  I’m not lazy enough to do absolutely nothing for 2 weeks.  I think maybe we’ll make comic books or something like that.  Something relatively easy and fun that lets them be creative and requires a minimal amount of guidance from me.

It’s just so hard to throw myself back into work when I’ve allowed myself to be a real human being the past couple of weekends.  Last weekend I went to a movie with a friend, this weekend I went to one by myself.  Yesterday I drove out to Germantown and ended up buying painting supplies.  I spent most of the evening and part of this afternoon painting things, which was really enjoyable.  I also spent the past week and most of today reading a book.  A real, actual, written-for-adults book.  Not something about vampires, not something I’ve read a bunch of times before, but something new and interesting and with a high level vocabulary.

Don’t get me wrong, I love teaching.  I love my students (even when they drive me crazy).  I love that I get the opportunity to make an impact, even though I don’t love that I feel like I’ll never see what that impact was.  As much as I love teaching, it was really nice to pretend for a couple of days that I was a normal adult with a normal job who could spend the weekend just doing whatever I felt like doing.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  May 2, 2010

    Almost there… Finish well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

