How I Know I’m a Teacher

Here are some reasons why I’m pretty positive I’ll be teaching for longer than my 2 year Teach for America commitment:

  • I drove with 2 other teachers from Memphis to Murfreesboro, TN to watch our soccer team play in the state championship tournament.
  • We won our first game, so I paid for a hotel room to stay for the semifinals the next day.
  • I went hoarse from shouting so much.  Shouting for my kids, shouting at the refs, shouting at the other fans…generally just being obnoxious.  And I loved every minute of it.
  • When I got back to Memphis at 3 a.m., I laid awake for about an hour thinking about how much I will miss my kids and how excited I am for next year.
  • Most of my plans for the summer revolve around helping the new corps members, reading young adult literature, and prepping for next year…and I’m excited about it!
  • The thought actually crossed my mind that I kind of don’t want a summer break because I don’t want to lose the momentum I had.
  • I’ve officially been on summer break for about 6 hours and I already miss my kids and have no idea what I’m going to do without them for 2 months.

There’s lots more, but the season premiere of So You Think You Can Dance is on and I’m way too distracted to keep writing  :)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. heymissblog

     /  May 29, 2010

    I’m not sure how I even ended up following your blog, but I have enjoyed reading it! I wanted to share a link with you: http://teachlikearockstar.com/. This guy is amazing. He’ll be in Memphis in a couple of weeks so if it’s not too late, see if your principal will send you! Seriously, I think he changed my teaching-life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

