Here come the newbies…

Today is the first day of Induction, which is when we welcome the 108 members of the 2010 Teach for America Memphis Corps and plunge them into the crazy world that is TFA and Memphis and teaching in general.  I am serving as a transition team leader this year, which means I have 8 corps members that I am responsible for who have no idea what they have gotten themselves into.  I’ve been able to get in touch with most of them (some of them don’t return phone calls), and they are all so excited and nervous.  It’s crazy to me that I was in exactly the same position only a year ago…it seems so much longer.

Please be praying for my transition team – for Erica, Miriam, Bernice, Courtney, Brittany, Will, Joseph, and Loide.  Pray that they would connect with people and make friends quickly.  Pray that they will find housing.  Pray that they will have safe travel to Memphis today and to Atlanta next week.  Pray that Institute would be a time of learning and growth, and not a time of panic and stress (although I’m sure there will be some of both).

Most of all, I would ask that you pray the prayer that the Lord has laid on my heart for them – that the next 2 years would be a refining fire in their lives, that draws each of them into a deeper relationship with Jesus Christ.  I was reminded at church yesterday of how often we forget how much we loved Jesus when we first met Him.  Pray that these new teachers would either meet Him and fall in love with Him for the first time or remember their first love and return to the works they did at first (Revelation 2:1-7).

I’m so excited for next year!  So many students are going to learn so much!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  June 2, 2010

    I sent this out to the “team”. I love your heart for your newbies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

