Dad’s Birthday

Today is my dad’s birthday, so I’m cooking dinner.  Well, most of it.  Dad’s in charge of grilling the steaks because nobody wants me in charge of that.

*Sidenote – at some point in my life I need to learn how to use a real grill.  And by real I mean something that goes outside.  Something that’s not a George Foreman.  Just saying.

What I am in charge of is dessert and side dishes galore.  For dessert I made mini-cheesecakes last night that are now in the fridge taunting us anytime we go to get a drink.  For sides I just peeled a whole bunch of potatoes (my hands are super starchy now) to make parmesan mashed potatoes and we’re also having broccoli with orange-sesame sauce.

If I manage to have everything hot and ready at the same time, it’ll be a miracle.  Maybe I’ll post some pictures later so you can see how it turned out (as if anyone who reads this actually cares).

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dad

     /  June 19, 2010

    I care – and it was both scrumptuously delicious and all ready and hot at the same time. Thanks a bunch for making it all happen, picking the recipes and being in charge. It was great – as are you!!

    Reply
  2. Becca

     /  June 25, 2010

    The mashed potatoes & the broccoli sound awesome! Can I get a recipe??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

