Judge all you want…

Sorry to leave you without my witty insights into the World Cup for a few days, but I’ve been busy traveling around the great state of Texas.  And let’s be honest: the past few games have not given me much material.  Paraguay-Japan was a snoozefest up until the penalty kicks, and even that was pretty boring considering I didn’t actually care who won.  I missed the Spain-Portugal game because I was on my way to Dallas.  Now we’re in the middle of rest days, just waiting for the quarterfinals.

Speaking of which, how much does it suck that Argentina and Germany are already playing each other?  And that a Spain-Germany final isn’t a possibility?  That’s a game I would love to see.

In other news, part of why I’m in Dallas was to go to the midnight showing of Eclipse with my friend Kaiti (which reinforced yet again my opinion that white, suburban teenagers are the most obnoxious people on the planet).  Judge all you want, but I like the books and I don’t hate the movies.  And then I read this review.

This guy made a lot of points that to me are much more valid than the “real vampires don’t sparkle” argument (“real vampires?” Which one’s are those?), and touch on some things that have bothered me about the books, considering their audience.  The picture of love that is in those books is definitely royally screwed up, and most girls who are reading/watching are not able to discern that.

And he’s definitely right about the books not being great source material for movies.  Long conversations and internal turmoil work well in print, but lead to lots of staring into space on the movie screen.

Will I still see the last 2 movies? Probably.  Will I read the books again? Most likely.  Will I recommend either the books or the movies to young girls I know now or in the future?  Not without serious thought and a few warnings.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • July 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

