Top 10 Reasons Why the 2nd Year of Teaching Rocks

In no particular order…

1. An hour and a half in homeroom is an expected occurrence, not a complete surprise.

2. I have access to my computer.  And my school email.  And the online attendance system.  And the online gradebook.

3. I don’t have to buy EVERYTHING for my classroom, because I did that last year.

4. I know how to hang bulletin board paper neatly and in less than half an hour.

5. I know how I want my students to act, which means I can tell them explicitly what I want them to do and then train them to do it.

6. I know who I am as a teacher – the persona I am projecting this year is one I am comfortable with, that matches my personality, and that I can sustain all year.

7. I have awesome roommates who let me rant about the ridiculousness of MCS and my school’s lack of a working copier.

8. I made it through the first week of school without having a fight break out in my classroom.  1200% improvement over last year.

9. I’ve already graded 3 out of 5 classes’ writing diagnostics.  Last year I graded one class, cried, and threw them all away.

10. My old students come by to say hi and give me hugs.  I love them so much!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  August 14, 2010

    Mom and I are laughing! We’re so glad this year is so much better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

