A Change of Scenery

I’m a firm believer that teachers should be excited about what they are teaching.  If you don’t like it, don’t teach it (which is why I will never, ever, ever teach The Scarlet Letter).  If you don’t like it, but it’s important, find a way to like it.  If you hate it but you are required to teach it by the powers that be, fake it til you make it.

We were supposed to be starting The Outsiders today.  While I’m nervous about actually teaching a novel for the first time, I’m also really excited.  I think my kids are really going to like it.  However, this morning I am not excited.  The plan was to read chapter 1 today, but I haven’t had the time to really sit down with the book and my resources and plan out what I want to do with each chapter and where I want to go with this.

Which leaves me feeling like I’m flying by the seat of pants.
Which I hate.
Which makes me not excited about teaching.
Plus I hate the idea of starting a novel and then not seeing them again until Monday (ah, block scheduling).

So instead of doing what I would normally do – push through it and make all of us miserable because we have lots to do and not enough time to do it – I’m changing the game plan today.  Their reading logs for September are due and I know a lot of them have not read the 200 pages they are supposed to have read or done the assignment that goes along with it.

So today and tomorrow we are reading.  All day.  And since the weather is gorgeous, I got permission for us to go outside and read in the courtyard.

I just got way more excited about teaching today and tomorrow.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I loved this post, we’re learning all about planning right now and some people are so uptight, I love that you are a go with the flow girl like me. :)

    Reply
  2. Dad

     /  October 1, 2010

    You are the BEST!! Way to change up the plan in a way that will prevent frustration and potentially getting off on the wrong foot to one that will begin with a good grounding. And the outside reward part is genius!!

    1-2-3 YES!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • September 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

