Why I Blog

I have had a blog in some form or fashion since December of 2003.  Since then, I have migrated from LiveJournal to a short stint on Xanga before switching to WordPress in 2008.  During the LiveJournal days, my blog was a place for me to post random quizzes, random thoughts, and served as an outlet during a difficult time in my life.  I grew up a lot in college (which is what you’re supposed to do), and my blog grew with me.  The switch to WordPress meant fewer surveys and quizzes and more actual thought and content.

And then I moved to Memphis.  The blog didn’t change, but I certainly did.  Talk of movies and music and church ended and my posts focused almost entirely on school and students and teaching.  There were funny stories and prayer requests, but the subject matter never seemed to stray very far from the classroom.

After the beginning of this school year, I began blogging much less than usual.  Over the break, I’ve spent a good deal of time thinking about whether or not to try to continue.  This led me to ask myself questions:  Why do I blog?  Is it serving a purpose?  Am I just looking for attention?  Does anyone other than my parents actually read it anymore anyway?

After thinking through these questions, I’ve decided that I DO want to continue my blog and that I want to be much more consistent about it in 2011.  I will probably never post a whole bunch of pictures and interesting tidbits.  There will most likely be days where I only post a couple of sentences or a link to something.  I will most definitely never have a huge following.  But the fact remains that I enjoy writing and I don’t want to lose that skill.  Writing helps me process things and forces me to actually think through my own opinions.  It allows me to play with words and provides a record of my experiences during this rather interesting season of life.

Plus, as I tell my students all the time, there is value in doing something that is a little bit difficult or challenging.  So here’s the challenge/promise/resolution: I will strive to update my blog every weekday in 2011.  And perhaps beyond 2011.  We shall see.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  January 1, 2011

    Welcome back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

