Fitness Friday (1)

I couldn’t come up with a cute “Why I…” title for this post, and the likelihood of me being able to come up with one for Fitness Friday every week is not very good, so I’m gonna be super boring with the titles on these.  Sorry if you were expecting something wittier; if you didn’t already know, you will soon realize that my wit is completely inconsistent.

This week I:

  • signed up for a 3-month gym membership
  • taken a Zumba class
  • scheduled a session with a personal trainer for Saturday morning.

What is Zumba, you ask?  Well, watch this video.

See that girl in the white tank top and green pants who has no idea what’s going on?  Yeah, that was pretty much me.  Thankfully I wasn’t the most uncoordinated person in the room, plus our class was much smaller and not quite as fast, so I didn’t feel like a complete idiot.  It was pretty fun and I’m sure once I get the hang of it I’ll like it a lot.  Plus, it really was a good workout and the time went by much faster than it would have on the treadmill.

Goals for next week:

1. Go to the gym at least 4 times this week (this week = today – next Thursday…I’m totally counting this afternoon as part of the coming week).

2. Go to Zumba next Wednesday.

3. Track what I eat everyday, including weekends (I like to think that if I don’t track on the weekend I will still pay attention to what I eat and make relatively good choices.  This is more commonly known as self-deception.)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  January 7, 2011

    This is great! You can go ahead and check off number 1 and 2 on your goals for next week since:

    1. I’m totally dragging you to the gym today and Monday-Wednesday of next week and you’re meeting with your trainer on Saturday…so that’s five days!
    2. There’s no way you’re missing Zumba on Wednesday because I’m joining you!
    3. You’re kick-ass! :)

    I look forward to helping you have LOTS of things to Fitness Friday about. Happy Friday!

    Reply
  2. I’ve been tracking my calories on http://www.sparkpeople.com. It’s a great website with lots of tools to help you keep track and see you progress. I LOVE IT! I need to get serious about fitness/nutrition this year, so I’m right there with ya! You will do great, and looks like Jill will keep you on track and make it fun!

    Reply
    • rachelheather

       /  January 7, 2011

      I’ve heard of sparkpeople, but I had used livestrong.com in the past so I’m using that again. I love that pretty much anything I search for is already in there, so I never really have to put in nutrition facts or anything.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

