Why I Get Annoyed with Students

There are a lot of things I could talk about with a title like that, aren’t there?  Heads down, talking while I’m talking, complaining about the heat/cold that I have no control over, asking questions I’ve already said the answer to 12 times, etc., etc., etc.  There are, however, two specific things that were annoying me yesterday.

1. Report Card day

Yesterday we handed out report cards that included 2nd Quarter, Semester Exam, and Semester grades.  In the weeks leading up to the end of the semester, I printed out multiple grade sheets for my students.  I told them if they were in danger of failing.  I came to school on a Saturday to give make up work to the students who bothered to show up.

After report cards were handed out, I had multiple students come to my room and ask me if I would change their failing grade to a passing grade.  They promised that they would come later on and do the make up work, but they just couldn’t go home with a failing grade on their report card.  My response?  Bite me. (Although I said it in much more diplomatic terms.)

Yes, you have 9 weeks to make up any failing quarter grade (don’t even get me started on that nonsense).  No, I will not credit you the grade on the hopes that you decide to get off your lazy butt and do extra work for my class on top of the work you’re already not doing.  Take your failing grade home, deal the consequences, and hopefully learn your lesson.

2. Dirty minds that turn everything into an innuendo

Apparently, the following poem is so distractingly dirty that one student refused to read it out loud in class.

The Drum by Nikki Giovanni

daddy says the world is
a drum tight and hard
and i told him
i’m gonna beat out my own rhythm

I thought this was a short, simple poem that I could use to demonstrate our 5 steps for reading poetry.  If I had known it would completely derail my class, I would have found something else.

The kicker?  It’s printed on the guided notes sheet I’ve already paid to copy, so I can’t even change it.  I get to deal with it in 4 other class periods.

Most of the time I really enjoy my job, but yesterday was one of those days when I found myself wishing I spent most of my time surrounded by adults rather than teenagers.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

