Why I Teach New Students (SotW 2.9)

Between the last few days of last semester and the beginning of this semester I have gotten a bunch of new students.  This is difficult because so much of what we do in my class builds on things we’ve done before.  The kids who have been with me know what I’m asking for when I ask them to write a paragraph (or at least they should), but these new kids don’t really know what I am looking for.  I frequently reference things we talked about in The Outsiders or short stories we have read before in order to connect them to things we’re doing now.  If they weren’t in my class for that, sometimes they get a little bit lost.

Please pray for my new students – RL, CC, NP, CB, CH, TH, and CE.  Pray that I would have patience with them as I work to catch them up.  Pray that they would become invested in the way we do things very quickly so that we can get on to the business of learning.  Mostly, pray that the Lord would give me great affection for them, even though they haven’t been in my room that long.  Pray that I would very quickly come to see them as my kids instead of the new kids.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. SotW Updates, part 2 « Why I…

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

