Why I Love My Growth Group

My growth group is AMAZING! They are so encouraging and supportive and really really good at calling out lies and excuses and helping me replace them with Truth.

For the next few weeks we are reading Nancy Leigh Demoss’ Lies Women Believe and I feel like it’s going to really mess me up (in the good way, of course).  After meeting with my trainer last night, it was really good to get to go to group and talk about God and things that are real and true.

My trainer is fantastic and I’m learning a lot from her, but it’s also frustrating because she thinks she understands everything about me, but she really doesn’t.  She taught English in inner-city Chicago when she was younger, so she thinks she knows what I’m dealing with at school and keeps telling me that I need to draw boundaries and basically not invest so much in my kids.  She says she’s a Christian and understands “being a spiritual person” but still tells me that I have to be my first priority and that I need to take care of body above everything else.

The things she says all sound fine and reasonable, but the mindset behind them is full of lies.  The truth is that God is enough, He is all I need.  If I could every actually understand and believe and act on that, I would eat better and take care of my body and use my time more effectively, because I wouldn’t be trying to control things myself or trying to fill some need I think He won’t take care of.

I just hate that this whole experience has made me more obsessed with food than I was before.  I’ve found myself thinking about it constantly, and then using reading, facebook, etc. as a way to escape it.  None of that is healthy.  It all comes from lies that I have believed for a long time.  In an effort to get some truth back into my head, heart, and life, here is my memory verse for the week:

Whom have I in heaven but you?
And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Psalm 73-25-26

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Where do you go to church?
    I love your attitude toward life, and I would love to steal some of it :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives

