Why I Love This Week

So, obviously blogging has become less of a priority of late.  But hey, that New Year’s Resolution pretty much lasted through February, which is awesome as far as resolutions go.  I just have so many other things going on that are more important and are taking my focus.  I do have a few ideas for posts running through my head, I just haven’t wanted to take the time or mental energy to type them up.

That being said, this week has been pretty stinking fantastic, especially when compared to last week.  I had a ridiculously relaxing day on Sunday – slept in, went to church, had a leisurely lunch at Panera, spent most of the afternoon in the bookstore reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell, and then had dinner at Old Venice Pizza Company with Jacqui and Jill. (So delicious…if you’re ever in Memphis, go there.  And invite me along.)

I’ve also been spending more time in God’s Word since last Wednesday.  It’s not always very long, and I don’t have a brilliant epiphany every day, but it certainly makes a huge difference in my perspective and attitude throughout the rest of the day.  Plus it reminds me of the things I know to be true and helps me avoid traps of guilt and laziness.  Why do I always forget how important that time is?  My ability to rationalize things astounds me to no end.

The cherry on top of this week was last night.  Even though I was super focused on my food this week, I was still a little nervous when I met with Lisa.  If I didn’t get a good result, I was pretty sure it was going to completely wreck any motivation I had left.  Thankfully, I lost SIX POUNDS last week!  That is insane to me.  As one of the women in my growth group said, “That’s a Biggest Loser-type number!”  I’m really excited about the success and it’s definitely given me the motivation to continue working hard.

Now if only I can manage to not let my students drive completely up the wall in the lead up to Spring Break, these next few weeks should be totally awesome.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

