Why I Teach LM (SotW 2.15)

Sorry for the long absence.  The combination of spring break, illness, moving rooms, and life in general meant that blogging was not exactly a priority.  But now I’m back!  I’m not sure if I’ll be back on an every day schedule, or just semi-regularly, but we’ll see how it goes this week.

This week’s student is LM.  LM, unfortunately, was a student that was slipping through the cracks in my classroom.  He was missing class pretty frequently and when he was in class he was usually late and not exactly enthusiastic about doing the work.  Since he’s in a class with a lot of loud personalities who suck up most of my attention, he flew under the radar for most of the year.

At the end of the 3rd 9 weeks he was in danger of failing and I gave him a huge packet of make up work, not expecting much from him.  And then I found out that he was working on his make up work with the fantastic Reggie Davis.  Reggie works for Streets Ministries and puts a lot of time and effort into building relationships with the young men at Kingsbury.  Reggie has been encouraging LM to step it up in the classroom, telling him that teachers are more likely to help him out if he shows he’s putting in the effort.  Since then, LM has actually been bringing in his homework and bragged to Reggie that he’s reading a book right now (which means he’s actually reading the book I loaned him, which is a huge victory).

LM’s situation has really highlighted for me some of my weaknesses as a teacher.  While I know I can’t realistically give all of my students the same amount of attention, I need to be more careful about only focusing on the squeaky wheels.  Also, I need to do a much better job of partnering with parents, coaches, and people like Reggie in order to motivate my students.

Pray that I would raise my expectations for LM and not just be content that he is quiet and well-behaved.  Pray that Reggie’s influence in his life would not just make him a better student, but would show him the love of Christ and bring him into relationship with God.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. SotW Updates, part 2 « Why I…

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

