SotW Updates, part 2

Here’s part 2 of the Student of the Week updates.

2.8 – DD and JK – Well, I’m not sure what happened with the whole witchcraft thing, but these girls definitely need prayer still.  I haven’t actually seen DD since the beginning of May.  I’m not sure exactly what’s going on, but I know that things at home are not good.

JK was actually living with her sister because her parents died a couple of years ago, but her sister recently kicked her out.  She got emancipated by the court and is currently living in an apartment by herself.  I have no idea how she’s actually supporting herself.

2.9 – New students – Most of my new students adjusted pretty well, although a couple of them disappeared pretty quickly.  RL and CE in particular have become pretty close to my heart.

2.10 – This one was about our poetry unit.  It ended up going pretty well.

2.11 – EO – Oh, what can I say about EO.  He still drives me up the wall.  He’s still incredibly condescending towards both me and other students.  But hey, his essay writing improved.  I think it’s just going to have to be one of those things where life will eventually teach him some humility.

2.12 – KI – Well, KI came to school pretty regularly during the 4th nine weeks, participated a bunch, got a 5 out of 6 on his essay for Raisin in the Sun, and then disappeared without doing the final project.  Hopefully he shows up tomorrow or next week, otherwise he might be in trouble.  Still one of my favorite kids from this year, though.

2.13 – NW and AV – NW returned to school pretty quickly and seems to be doing alright.  He’s still pretty sullen, but seems a little bit more like himself lately.  I’m hoping he’ll run out of John Steinbeck works to read pretty soon and find something a little more uplifting.

AV has been on and off suspension for the past couple of months.  She got involved in some crazy drama with someone else’s boyfriend and is actually only returning to school next week to take her finals.

2.14 – TC – I’m not sure what ended up happening with the whole situation between TC and JM, but they’re both still at school which is good.  In fact, TC was one of only 2 students to score a 6 out of 6 on the TCAP writing test.  I’m going to go ahead and take a little bit of credit for that  :)

2.15 – LM – LM has continued to do very well in my class since I wrote about him.  He started slacking off a little bit toward the end, but who doesn’t do that?  He is actually in class right now, working away on his final project as I type this.

Well, there you have it!  This doesn’t even begin to cover all the things that have happened in my students’ lives this year, but it does give you a pretty good sampling.  It’s actually really hard knowing that I won’t be here next year to say hi to them in the hall or bug them about how they’re doing in English III.  I’m really gonna miss my babies.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

