Why I’m Proud of My Boys

I’ve been MIA the past couple of days, but I have a really good excuse: my soccer boys are playing in the state championship!

After struggling through most of the regular season, the guys really started to pick it up the past couple of weeks.  They made it through district, city, regionals, and sectionals.  On Tuesday, they headed to Murfreesboro for the state quarterfinals and as soon as school as out, I jumped in my car to join them.

Tuesday night we played a very tough game against Greeneville.  The Greeneville Devils came into the tournament claiming they were going to win the state title.  Unfortunately for them, our boys were having none of that.  We scored first off a PK pretty early in the game and then they tied it up in the second half, causing me to nearly have a heart attack from stress.  We ended up going to overtime and Gio managed to put one in the back of the net.  They don’t play sudden death, so we had to wait through another torturous 17 minutes of overtime, but they made it through.  And then took this picture.

I spent the night in Murfreesboro and then the semifinal game against East Hamilton was Wednesday afternoon. (side note: I actually went for a jog Wednesday morning…go me!)  It was a messy, messy game and our boys didn’t really wake up until the second half, which was pretty scary.  The really fun part for me, though, was listening to the other team’s parents complain about the ref.  Much better than last year, when I was the one screaming my head off at unfair calls.

Click here to read the newspaper article about the semifinal game and see a really awesome picture of my student making a save.

I drove back to Memphis after the game because I needed to clean out my classroom and finish my end-of-year checklist on Thursday.  I spent some time hanging out under an overpass because of the crazy storm, but finally made it home, safe and sound.

In a couple of hours I will be meeting up with quite a few people at the school so we can caravan to Murfreesboro for the championship game against Chattanooga Christian.  CCS is the team that knocked us out of semifinals last year, so it’s gonna be a bit of a grudge match.  I’ve been trying to recruit a bunch of fans because their fans were obnoxious.  Hopefully we’ll have good reason to be obnoxious  :)

If by any chance you want to watch the game, you can check it out at http://www.tssaanetwork.com at 4:30pm.

If you want to read more articles about Kingsbury soccer, click here and here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dad

     /  May 27, 2011

    Good luck!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

