Wine and Love (21)

It’s Thursday, which means it’s time to join up with Nora’s Wine and Love!  Without further ado, here’s the good, the bad, and the ugly from the past week.

Wine-ing about:

  • I thought it was hot last week, but it’s been worse this week.  My house being built in 1912 + really high ceilings + single-pane windows + crappy insulation = the A/C is struggling to keep it below 80 degrees in here.
  • We’ve been having a lovely (sarcasm) back and forth with our property management company.  When we renewed our lease we gave them a whole list of things the old company had not fixed.  They promised us all the problems would be taken care of this summer.  Well, school starts next week and they’ve almost finished…one project.  We still have a broken gate, a falling down fence, and a temporarily-fixed broken window that dates back to a storm in April.
  • So You Think You Can Dance ends next week.  That always feels like the final nail in the coffin of summer to me.
  • Cowboys & Aliens.  I did not think it was possible, but the movie featuring Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, cowboys, aliens, and things blowing up can only be described with one word: boring.  I was literally yawning.  During an alien attack.  I would have expected/been fine with campy, cheesy, lame, exciting, fun, or ridiculous.  But really, how do you make that concept boring!?
Loving:
  • My new school is amazing.  I’ve been up there this week planning and trying to get ready for the year and it’s fantastic.  Everyone is super friendly and super helpful.  It’s just wonderful to already feel a spirit of collaboration and I just keep being startled at all the things I don’t have to do all on my own.
  • My friend Sam is the 7th and 8th grade English teacher.  I’m the 9th and 10th grade teacher.  Those kids WILL be readers by the time we’re done with them.
  • Target.  Man, that store is brilliant.  I really need to never go in there.  I went to see if I could find a cheap bookcase for my classroom and ended up getting a 5-shelf bookcase, 2 shirts, the BBC Pride and Prejudice, nail polish, etc., etc., etc.  I swear, I cannot just pop in and pop out of that place.  It’s like a time vortex or something.
  • My dog’s hotspot is completely healed!  Now she just has a weird almost-bald spot on her cheek.  Poor baby.
  • Did you see SYTYCD last night?  The Sasha and Kent number?  The Melanie and Tadd number?  Kaitlynn and Marko?  Melanie’s solo?  I mean, how do these people do those things with their bodies!?
Tune in tomorrow for a new Friday series, 30 Days of Truth!
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Krys

     /  August 4, 2011

    I love Target, too. I can’t go in too often because otherwise I’d spend my entire life in Target!

    Reply
    • rachelheather

       /  August 5, 2011

      I think I could very happily spend my life in Target. They have everything you need!

      Reply
  2. I love Target and so far have kept myself under control about spending money in there. LOL

    I sure wish you were my daughter’s teacher and she would learn to love reading. :) She has struggled with that all of her life but is making it with ALOT of hard work. Keep up the good work, kids need compassionate, caring teachers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

