Why Today is Bittersweet

Today my babies will head back into the halls of Kingsbury High School.  I ran into a few of my favorites at the mall yesterday and they were telling me who they have for homeroom and which classes they’re taking this year.  And for about the zillionth time in the past week, it hit me: I won’t be there.

I won’t get to ask them about their summer.  I won’t get to tease them when they try to walk by without saying hi.  I won’t get to look at their schedules and see who is teaching them this year.  I won’t be laughing about my leaning bookshelf or trying to figure out how to fit 33 students into 27 desks.  I won’t get to commiserate with my fellow teachers about being in homeroom for so long or place bets on how long faculty meeting will be and when all the students will actually have real schedules.

Today it becomes real.  My babies are still Falcons; I am now a Cougar.

By the end of this week I will have new babies to get to know and love.  I will have decorated my new huge, beautiful classroom.  I will have build my new (non-leaning) bookshelf and arranged my desks how I want them, rather than how they fit.  If last week is any indication, I will be collaborating with my fellow teachers rather than commiserating.  Our meetings will be productive.

All of this is exciting, but there is an air of bittersweet as well.  The students I met at Kingsbury will always have a special place in my heart and my prayers.  I hope they know I have not forgotten them.  I hope they know I did not want to leave them.  I hope they know I miss them.  I hope they have a great first day back.

And if I’m being completely honest and a little bit selfish, I hope that when they walk by the room that is no longer my room, they miss me just a little bit.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

