30 Days of Truth – Day 2

I wrote this last night and didn’t have the brain power to go through and make it sound like I wrote it this morning.  Deal with it.  Love ya!

Day 2 is something I love about myself.  This is coming at a really good time, becaue I desperately need to be thinking positively.  Tomorrow is the first day of school and I’m kind of freaking out.  It’s mostly my own fault (see last week’s truth post for more info on that), but there’s just so much to do and it seems like there are not enough hours in the day.

I’m anxious and nervous and if the last two years are any indication, I probably won’t sleep very well tonight.  Here’s the silver lining though:  all those butterflies in my stomach?  They’re there because I want so badly to do a good job.  And I think that’s something worth loving about myself.

When I really care about something, I don’t do it halfway.  I jump in with both feet and give all of myself, no matter what the consequences might be.  If I’m committed to something, I’m committed 100%.  This can be difficult, since I have a job that will suck up your 100% and demand 200% more, but I’d rather be this way than not be able to really commit to anything.

It’s not just with teaching, either.  I feel like I’ve almost always been this way with people, too.  If we’re going to be friends, I’m in.  All the way.  This has burned me more times than I care to remember, and there have certainly been times where I have chosen to shut myself off to avoid being hurt, but it’s still my natural instinct to open up to people and attempt to build relationships.  I love talking about what’s really going on with people and getting past all the surface level small talk junk and into the nitty gritty of who we really are.

Looking back at what I wrote, it’s so clear yet again that I was made to be a teacher.  A person who fully commits to their job and enjoys building relationships – is there really a better foundation for teaching than that?  So ultimately, even if my bulletin board isn’t quite finished and my classroom isn’t quite organized and my lesson doesn’t quite fill the time tomorrow, the world will not end.  The sun will set, and the sun will rise, and I will be back in there on Saturday finishing things up and doing whatever I can to get better.

And that, my friends, is why I blog.  I started this post off nervous and anxious, and now I’m leaning towards excited and determined.  Not bad, not bad at all.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Aunt Chris

     /  August 12, 2011

    Have a great day today!!!! Hope you have a class that is excited about learning (I know – that’s a hard one to come by) and that this school year is everything you want it to be.
    BTW – Happy Belated Birthday. So hard to believe you are 25. I often see the picture where Becca and you are holding Mandy when she was a newborn in my mind. You were 3 then. Now you are 25. WOW!!!

    Reply
  2. Becca

     /  August 12, 2011

    Good job, Rach! You’ll have an awesome first day BECAUSE of all the things you just said! And… random that the firat day of school is a Friday…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

