Return of Student of the Week!

A new school year has started and with that comes the return of student of the week!

Now, I’ve only had one half-day with my students so I don’t have anything specific for you to be praying for at this point.  I do, however, have a request and a few bullet point things for the year that you can be praying for if you so wish.

First, my request: each day at the beginning of each class, I read a Scripture and pray to open class.  I was thinking today that I want to be purposeful with the verses I choose, particularly at the beginning of the year.  Last Friday I chose Romans 12:1-2 and prayed that this year would be a year of transformation and renewal of both minds and hearts.  Today I am reading Matthew 7:24-27 and praying that we would be building on a strong foundation this year.

So where do you come in?  I need more verses!  If there is a particular verse that you think would be appropriate or one that you are praying over my students (or your own kids), leave a comment or shoot me an email.  I want my students to know that there are people praying for them and I think this would be a great way to help do that.

On to the bullet points!

Please be praying for:

  • Faithfulness on my part.  In the past couple of weeks I have really come face-to-face with just how lazy I allowed myself to get last year.  I know many of you (*coughMomandDadcough*) will say I’m just being too hard on myself, but I really could have been a much better planner and teacher.  Pray that I would look at the structures at my new school as an opportunity to become a truly great teacher rather than a burden.
  • Good relationships with students.  I am convinced that if I do not have good relationships with my students they will not learn everything they need to learn, no matter how awesome my lesson plans are or how structured the school is.  Pray that I would be able to quickly build true, meaningful relationships with students.
  • This is kind of a small thing, but the book I planned my first unit around has to be approved by the Executive Committee at school.  My first unit is supposed to start in 2 weeks, and my second unit is directly related to it, so if it doesn’t get approved, I have a whole lot of stuff to figure out.  Please pray that it would be approved.
  • My babies at Kingsbury.  I have run into more of them in the past couple of weeks than I did the entire time I taught there.  They still weigh heavily on my heart (and I kind of hope they always do).  Pray that the Lord would provide other people to enter their lives and show them His love.
Thanks for all the support you give to me and my students!  I can’t wait to get to know my new scholars better so I can give you more details on how to pray for them!
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Barbara Glasier

     /  August 15, 2011

    I am excited for you and so glad your mom added me to the list. You are such a bundle of love to these students and I am honored to be a prayer partner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

