Ten on Tuesday (93)

I’m kind of excited in a super nerdy way because I made up this week’s Ten on Tuesday questions!  I hope people like them.  I sent in another set as well that I think will be really fun, so that should show up in a couple of weeks.  As always, Ten on Tuesday is hosted by Chelsea at Roots and Rings!  Visit her page to check out everybody else’s answers.

10 on Tuesday

1. What do you do for a living?
I teach high school English.  Yay!

2. What’s your favorite thing about your job?
Honestly, getting to hang out with teenagers and talk about books all day.  I actually find that I enjoy being around my students more than adults a lot of the time.  They are way more straightforward and honest, plus they’re hilarious.

3. What’s your least favorite thing about your job?
Sometimes it kind of consumes my life.  Particularly right now, at the beginning of the new school year.  There are just so many things I have to do and so many more I want to do.  I never really seem to stop working.  I wish it was possible to be a great teacher without having to do all the planning.

4. If you weren’t a ____________, what would you be?
I would be a movie/TV/book critic.  I think it would be so awesome to just watch TV all day and then write about and actually get paid for it.  Plus critics get to go to things like Comic-Con and meet tons of awesome people.

5. What is something that you would love to get paid for that you think no one would every pay you for?
I would love to get paid to read.  Wouldn’t it be awesome if there was someone who would pay you x amount per page read?  It would certainly motivate me to read more!

6. If you could have any job for exactly one day, what would it be?
Movie star!  I wouldn’t want to do it all the time, but for just a day I think it would be super fun.  Especially if I could pick a day like the Academy Awards, so I could hang out with all the other movie stars.

7. If you had to do manual labor, what would you do?
I didn’t realize how hard this question was.  The only things I can really think of are construction and being a house painter, both of which involve heights and ladders.  Or maybe farming.  Does that count as manual labor?

8. What is something you were forced to learn in high school that was supposed to be super important, but you never actually use?
Physics.  I know, I know, without gravity we would all be floating around in space dying from lack of oxygen, but I still maintain that the laws of physics will be true whether I know and understand them or not.

9. Who was your favorite boss?  Why?
As of right now, my current boss.  He is so caring and thoughtful and doesn’t waste our time.  He wants to give students a great education, so he makes sure that we have the tools we need to be great teachers.  I still can’t believe I get to work for him.

10. Where would you rather work: Dunder Mifflin Paper Company (The Office), Wernham Hogg Paper Company (The Office, UK), or Initech (Office Space)?
Dunder Mifflin.  I think it would be fun to work with Jim and Pam.  I would try to avoid Dwight, though  :)

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I really liked the questions this week, thanks for coming up with them!

    Reply
  2. Krys

     /  August 16, 2011

    I really liked this week’s questions! I would also LOVE to get paid to read – that would be the best job ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

