Why I’m Not Here Much (Again)

I want to write.  I need to write.

Unfortunately, by the time I get home each night my brain is completely fried and unable to do anything other than surf blogs and watch Law & Order: SVU marathons on TV.

I’m a little worried about making it through this school year with my sanity intact.  I generally end up at school until after 5 on Mondays just to catch up on grading and all the other little tasks that accumulate over the previous week.  Now that my small group meets on Thursdays, I need to use Tuesday and Wednesday evenings for planning.  Then on Thursdays my small group meets literally around the corner from my school, so there’s really no point in going home at 4/4:30 just to come back at 6:30 (I don’t live that far, but it’s a mental thing).

Something is going to have to give.  Somehow I need to get faster at doing my lesson plans or find ways to get more done during the course of the school day.  All I know is if I want to actually be a teacher long-term, I can’t spend the whole year working 10-, 12-, and 15-hour days.  I can do it when there’s an end in sight, but right now I don’t really see how anything is going to change.

And now I need to get off the couch and go get dressed so that I can get to school when all I really want is to go back to sleep for a few more hours.  It’s a good thing my students are awesome  :)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • September 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

