Rest in Peace

MC would have been 18 today.  My heart was a little bit heavier than usual today.  It’s a good reminder of why I do what I do every day.

I ran into his friend QC the other day at Kroger.  He works there now and he was bringing in carts from the parking lot when I walked out to my car.  He gave me a big hug and told me about how he’s going to have to work really hard to balance work and school and basketball, but that he knows school has to be the most important.  He asked me why I didn’t come back this year and I explained how I wanted to be the best teacher I can possibly be and that wasn’t going to happen at my old school.  He nodded and said he understood.

He gets it now.  He understands how important education is, how it can change everything for him.  How it can open doors to opportunities so that he doesn’t have to resort to stealing or dealing drugs.  I just wished he and MC could have learned the lesson together, instead of QC having to learn it through pain and loss.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dad

     /  October 17, 2011

    Sadness. BUT, you made a difference in QC’s life. Yes, MC’s tragedy was a huge factor, but your care and love for both of them made some difference for QC.

    Keep up the good work,

    Dad
    xoxoxo

    Reply
  2. Bill

     /  October 30, 2011

    An individual that lives out the truth in their life, especially one’s teacher, is a powerful lesson and encouragement for those that care to look.

    How very telling it is that your greeting was a warm hug; a testiment to The Spirit and heart that is within you. Your ministry of education via relationship has and will have untold godly and positive influence – press on!

    YBIC,
    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • October 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

