Why I Do Not Write a Home Improvement Blog

I love love love reading decorating/home improvement blogs.  One of the first blogs I started following on a regular basis was Young House Love.  I love seeing before and after pictures.  I love flipping through DIY magazines.  I love looking at all the beautiful rooms on Pinterest.

When it comes to actually doing a lot of that stuff, however, I seem to lack the tools/knowledge/money/time/desire/artistic ability/etc.  It’s something I like thinking about, but I’ve never made it a priority.

Now, my house isn’t completely undecorated.  I’ve gotten a number of compliments on my living room, the only room in my house that I would really call decorated.  I have matching furniture, a nice area rug, a couple of cute end tables, and my bookshelves full of books, pictures, and other assorted knick knacks.  The living room is where I spend most of my time when I’m home, and it’s a space I enjoy being in.

Looking, matching grown-up furniture! Also, check out the fabulous (in my opinion) end table made of antique suitcases.

Hello, friends.

My bedroom, however, is a completely different story.  I have cute bedding, but that’s about it.  My furniture is mismatched.

See, isn’t the bedding cute! Plus I’m really excited about that lamp I found at Target that matches perfectly.

White book shelf I inherited from an old roommate; red chair from when my bedding was just browns instead of blue & brown.

White desk from my childhood bedroom; super cheap black rolly chair.

There is practically nothing on the walls.

Wood dresser; stack of things that have hung on a wall of mine at some point in time. I think I may have to finally retire the Moulin Rouge poster. I do love the colors in it though…

And I’m not even going to show you the bathroom.

Nope, not going there!

I have all this great space, and it’s being completely wasted!

One of the projects I want to accomplish this summer break is making my bedroom feel like someone lives there.  So I came up with a plan, because that’s generally a good place to start.

Step 1 – Actually clean it.  I have no before pictures of this stage because 1. I didn’t take any, and 2. that would be way too embarrassing to post on the internet.  Let’s just say it wasn’t pretty and leave it at that.

Step 2 – Rearrange furniture.  Aaaaand I was immediately stumped.  Should I rearrange my furniture?  If I do, what goes where?

I’d really like to move my desk, partly because that entry part of the room doesn’t get much light and party because there’s a leak in the ceiling that still hasn’t been fixed (that’s why that old trash can is in front of my uber classy plastic drawers…super convenient, let me tell ya).  It would be nice to have the desk by the windows, but I feel like the chair would be kind of awkward in entry way.  Also, where the desk is now is wood flooring, while the rest of the room is carpeted, which would make the rolling chair a little more difficult to roll.

Here’s a rough estimate of the current floor plan (this is totally not to scale; I didn’t actually measure anything):

This is how I’ve had things since I moved into this room over a year ago, and it works pretty well, but it’s been my experience that the quickest way to feel like you got a whole new room is to rearrange furniture.

So what do you think?  Should I stick with what I have?  Should a couple of things swap places?  Should I construct a huge lazy susan in the middle of the room and put my bed on it so that spins around?

Once I get the furniture figured out, I can get on with the business of putting things on the walls, so help me out here, interwebs!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Becca

     /  June 3, 2012

    I vote for moving the bed under the windows, and the desk on the opposite wall. Not sure about everything else though. Maybe you could get one of those long, skinny decorative tables (not sure what they’re called) to put in the entry way, and put a vase with some pretty flowers or something on it. Or another bookshelf?

    Also – how did you make that floorplan? It’s a cool tool!

    Have fun!

    Reply
    • When you say opposite wall do you mean the one with the closet, or where the bed is now? I like your idea of buying another bookshelf…it would give me a reason to buy more books :)

      Oh yeah, and the floorplan tool is floorplanner.com. It’s super fun!

      Reply
  1. Why Craigslist is Great « Why I…

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

