Why I Procrastinate

Disclaimer: I am super vulnerable in this post.  After typing it all up, I almost decided to not post it, but if there is one thing I have learned in my 8 years of blogging, it’s that when I feel led to share something I better share it, because God has something He wants to do with it.  So here are all some of my issues, laid bare for the internet to see.  Please be kind.

I am a procrastinator.  Pretty much anyone who knows me can tell you this.  In high school, I was the girl trying to read the entire APUSH chapter at lunch, one hour before the quiz.  In college, I actually planned my all-nighters.  I knew how long it would take me to write a paper, so I would just work backwards from the due date.  10 page research paper due at 9am?  I would load up on coffee and start writing at 10pm.  As a teacher, I often leave grading until the last possible second, particularly if I’m grading essays.  I am a procrastinator.

But am I really?  Is that some unchangeable part of who I am at my core?

Recently I have been learning a lot about the things I tell myself.  There are so many messages about who I am swimming around in my head, and so often I believe those things are immutable aspects of my character.  Some of the messages are things other have told me, while some are messages I tell myself.  Some are not all that important (I am a procrastinator, I am a night owl, I don’t like the outdoors, I am a nerd), while others are a bit more damaging (I am lazy, I am the fat friend, I am socially awkward, I am the girl who struggles with depression).

I recently attended a six week class at church over the book The Search for Significance.  (You need to read this book.  I still haven’t actually finished it because I don’t always want to do the emotional work God and the author want me to do, but it’s really really excellent.)  The class was an incredibly sweet time of prayer and reflection and being open with other women in the church.

It was through this class (and some other recent conversations) that I discovered the deep-seated, most damaging lie that I believe about myself: that I am not wanted, merely tolerated.  This belief has informed so many of my decisions and relationships over the past 25 years, that it amazes me I didn’t see it before.  I have lived most of my life as if that statement were true; as if that was really how God, my family, my friends, and even strangers thought of me.

The woman who taught the class encouraged us to be looking for messages from God.  She was adamant that He was telling us how much He loves us in extremely specific and personal ways, all day, every day.  She said she often got the messages from movies, pop music, and even billboards, and that all we had to do was look and listen and we would begin to receive those messages too.

I prayed and asked God to please send me some of these messages…and then promptly began ignoring them.  I have had songs I wanted to hear come on the radio the minute I turned my car on.  At least half of the devotional emails or blogs that I’ve read since then have been focused on the idea that God loves me and finds me beautiful.  I have had friends actively pursue spending time with me, which is probably the biggest way I receive love (for all you 5 Love Languages people out there, I am definitely a “quality time” person).

What I can’t figure out is why I seem to be so insistent on ignoring these messages.  I skim those blogs and devotionals.  I do everything but spend time in prayer and the Word.  I continue to let the negative messages inform my identity more than what I know to be true.  I have so internalized those messages that I seem to be paralyzed at the idea of being anything else.

Am I the only who self-sabotages this way?  I can’t be the only one…right?  How do we break this cycle?  How do we get truths we know in our head to truly penetrate our hearts and change our lives?

Right now, what comforts me is the knowledge that I have a God who will not stop sending me these messages.  He is persistent in His love; His mercies are new every morning.  I am His daughter and nothing can separate me from His love…not even my own stubbornness.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Gaynelle

     /  June 7, 2012

    Thank you for baring your heart and soul to us. It is risky for a person to be so open about their true heartfelt feelings and I am glad you overcame that and shared. You will be blessed. I’m sure that there are any more out there who feel the same things you wrote within all walks of life, rich, poor, incredibly gifted, average joe, moms, daughters, fathers, sons, outgoing, quiet, single, married, plain jane, beautiful Barbie. I too am one who shares your feelings. Thank you for bing open enough to know that I am not alone. Cant wait til you are here so I can get/give hugs!

    Reply
  2. Jacklyn

     /  June 9, 2012

    You know, Rachel, I have thought a lot about this in the last month or so. Carmen, Rita, and I helped lead a leadership workshop for Kingsbury Students at Streets Ministires. I don’t know if you’ve ever met their High School Co-ordinator, Margot, or not, but she is an amazing woman. Anyway, she was leading a discussion about getting comfortable in your own skin and loving yourself for who you are, regardless of what demons you might be fighting about yourself, or how others might judge you.

    As she talked to these teenagers about self-acceptance, I stumbled upon an interesting truth–this is probably the most challenging, and yet still amazingly relevant, challenge in my life: love yourself.

    Be true to yourself. Know thyself. Love thyself.

    That’s probably some of the best advice I’ve ever received, and yet it’s advice that isn’t easy to swallow. I don’t think self-acceptance is a complete destination, because human beings are constantly evolving and transforming into something new. How do you accept what never stays constant? It’s a journey. But it shouldn’t be a journey that we use to torture ourselves. Why do so many of us do that?

    I really appreciate your post; I almost didn’t comment on it, honestly, but felt inspired by your voice and courage. I don’t have any answers, just empathy.

    Sometimes it’s nice to know you aren’t alone.

    Reply
  1. Why I’m Excited About the Coming Months « Why I…

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

