Why I’m Loving “She Reads Truth”

A few days ago my friend Chelsea tweeted about something called She Reads Truth.  She included an Instagram picture of a journal full of thoughts and feelings and I was intrigued.  I clicked on the hashtag (that’s when people put # before a word, Mom and Dad…it helps you search for things) and found a bunch of other women tweeting about it and sharing pictures of their journals.

I was curious, so I went to the almighty Google and found their website.  As it turns out, two friends wanted to be spending more time reading Truth (aka, the Bible) and decided to do it together to keep each other accountable.  They found a daily reading plan through a Bible App and started.  One of them tweeted about the plan and then all of a sudden people were asking them about it.  And more people kept asking.

They ended up creating a hashtag, a Twitter account, an Instagram account, and a blog, and now hundreds and possibly thousands of women have joined in with them.

And here’s the thing – it’s super easy.  You download the app (you can use it on your smart phone or your computer), find the plan they’re using, and jump in.  It’s that simple.  And it’s entirely possible to just use their plans as a guideline and do what you want with it, but the part I really love about it is the social media aspect.

Anyone who knows me knows I love my social media (hello, I’m writing this on a blog).  And women all over the country and quite possibly the world are participating in this and sharing their thoughts on Twitter and posting pictures of their journals on Instagram.  I love love love reading the verses and the devotional and doing my own journaling, and then pulling up Instagram and seeing what other people pulled out and wrote in their journals.  Sometimes they blur stuff out, but a lot of people leave it to where you can read what they wrote.

My picture from this morning.

Looking through other people’s thoughts creates a sense of community and a connection to the broader church.  Last night I was looking at some pictures and saw that another woman had written down one of the same reasons I had for why we don’t pray: it feels kinda awkward sometimes.  It was comforting to know I’m not the only one who feels that way, and I’m sure she appreciated it to.

So far the current study, “Living the Surrendered Life,” has focused on trusting God and being grateful in all circumstances.  We’re on Day 6 and it’s been a very rich, very beautiful time for me.  You can get all the details about the app and joining in on the She Reads Truth website, so go do it!  You can catch up with the current study, start from the beginning, or just jump in where we are – the point is just to be reading Truth together.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. cleansedbygod

     /  June 26, 2012

    Oh my goodness thank you so much! I kept thinking that this was a book and rather it’s all on YouVersion. I already use YouVersion for five other Devotional plans that I am on (of varying lengths). I started this plan today and look forward to my journey going through it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

