Why I’m Going to Write a Book, Apparently

Photo Credit: Mark Hillary (Creative Commons)

(Please forgive any nonsensical sentences or transitions.  I’m doing that thing writers aren’t supposed to do and writing this at the same time as I’m watching the live feed of the men’s gymnastics team finals.  That means I’m switching between tabs when there’s a break, so this might not actually make sense.)

I don’t believe in astrology.  I don’t read my horoscope for anything other than a good laugh.  I’ve never used tarot cards or a Ouija board.  I’m not running around screaming that it’s demonic or anything (although I certainly think Satan can use those kinds of things), I just think most of it is silly.

I also don’t see the face of Jesus in my grilled cheese or think that every little thing that happens in my life is a sign from God.  I think He certainly does send us signs at times, I’m just not the type of person who sees them everywhere all the time.

I say all this to preface something that happened to me last week that felt like God was smacking me upside the head.  Because I don’t see this kind of stuff all the time, this was just a little bit ridiculous.

Last Friday, I had lunch at Pei Wei.  I like going there because it’s one of those places where it’s not awkward to be by yourself and they have relatively healthy options for a pretty reasonable price.  I usually take my Nook with me and eat my Chinese food in the company of whatever fictional character I’m reading about at the time.

Friday’s lunch seemed completely normal, until I opened my fortune cookie.  When I read the fortune, I’m pretty sure I actually laughed out loud.  Here’s what it said:

Um, ok, that’s ridiculously specific for a fortune cookie.  I mean, really, when’s the last time you had a fortune cookie that said anything more specific than “You will face a decision soon”?

Of course, this is not the first time I’ve been told I should write a book.  My parents have both told me I should, as well as some other people.  I’ve even started a number of different books over the years, but I never seem to get past the first chapter.  But after this summer, I think it might be time.  Writing has certainly been a theme of this summer and though the influence of various other blogs and books, I’ve begun to identify myself as a writer.

The problem at this point is that I have absolutely no idea what to write a book about.  Should it be fiction or nonfiction?  Christian or general?  Eduction related or not?  My memoirs?  Can someone in their mid-20s really write a memoir?  It seems a little pretentious.  What it boils down to is that I know I have things I want to say, I just don’t actually know what they are.  A friend told me the other day that I should just start writing and figure that part out later, so I may try that.

Either way, it’s pretty clear that this whole writing a book thing should become less of an inkling of an idea in the back of my head, and more of an actual goal.  Of course, with work starting up again on Wednesday, we’ll just have to wait and see how that actually turns out.

*Photo Credit: Mark Hillary (Creative Commons)

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I think you should absolutely write a book. “What it boils down to is that I know I have things I want to say, I just don’t actually know what they are.” I relate to that sentence SO MUCH! One time I got a fortune cookie that said “you will inherit an oil field one day”. My dad actually has an oil field (small one albeit) that he runs. Talk about oddly specific! HA!

    Reply
  2. write what you know but also write about something that people can’t necessarily google to find the answer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

