Why I Need Your Help

So, I think if I’m going to be serious about this whole actually being a writer thing, I need to narrow my focus a bit.  This blog has always been delightfully random, which works pretty well as a reflection of my brain, but not so much as a marketable product.  I’m not entirely sure I want my blog to be a marketable product, but everything I’ve been reading about writing recently is pretty clear that if you want to build an audience, you have to be filling a need somehow.

And as far as I can tell, that’s what all the super-famous (or at least semi-famous) bloggers do.  Pioneer Woman gives her audience delicious recipes and beautiful pictures.  Young House Love gives their audience DIY tips for house renovation and decorating.  Jeff Goins gives his audience advice about writing and making a difference.  The Bloggess gives people ridiculous stories and pictures of taxidermied animals (spellcheck insists the correct word is “taxidermic”…whatever, spellcheck).

Considering I don’t even have a self-hosted blog yet (which all the gurus say is uber-important), I’m not about to start seriously marketing myself and going crazy trying to be blog famous.  I’m in the very beginning stages of thinking about all of this, but before I make any decisions, I wanted to ask all my lovely readers a few questions.

So here’s the audience-participation portion of the evening: would you please fill out the quick 5-question survey below?  I would be forever in your debt, and will pay you back with kind thoughts and giant hugs.  Well, the giant hugs are only for people I actually know.  If you’re a crazy internet stalker, no hugs for you.  And probably no kind thoughts either.

Anyway, please click the link below and fill out the survey and thank you so much for giving me a few more minutes of your very precious time.  Here you go!

You know you want to click me…

P.S. – It’s only one week until my birthday…woohoo!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 76 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

