Why I’m Never Bored (4)

Well, I’m typing this up late Sunday night after a week and weekend full of lots of brain work.  All that brain work leaves me with little mental energy for writing, so here are some things that are currently keeping me entertained:

1. Doctor Who – My love for Doctor Who is quite possibly the nerdiest thing about me (at the time being, anyway).  Most people would watch one episode, think I was totally crazy, and go back to watching Modern Family or NCIS or whatever it is that “normal” people watch.  But if you’re not watching it, you are definitely missing out.  All six seasons of the new series are on Netflix Instant and you should definitely give it a try.  If you get through the first three episodes or so, you’ll be hooked.  If you get through the first season, you’ll make it to David Tennant and then you will be in love.  There should be a stretch of time in between the Olympics and the new fall series when there will be nothing on…give it a shot.

2. Downton Abbey – I’ve only watched the first episode, but I’m pretty sure I’m going to love it.  It only took me this long to get to it because I’ve been too obsessed with the Olympics and rewatching Doctor Who to watch anything else.

3. This article about photography at the Olympics.  I still don’t understand why there’s so much beach volleyball, when most people I’ve talked to find regular volleyball much more exciting.  Is our culture really that shallow that we need to spend that much time watching girls in bathing suits play sports?  Don’t answer that…

4. This tumblr.  Man, I love my city.

5. This video of a man’s family carrying out his unique last request.

6. This classic Lorelai Gilmore scene.  I may use it to talk about free writing in my class this year.  Although last time I tried that, I was the only one who found it funny, so maybe not.

Alright, that’s all for me.  What’s keeping you occupied at the moment?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • A collection of ramblings and musings on Jesus, life, education, family, and anything else that pops into my head.

    Twitter: @rachel_heather
    Email: raltsman@gmail.com
    Tumblr: rachelwatchesthings

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 75 other followers

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

